Machine Learning
(Emerging Technologies in Intelligent Systems)

Spring 2001

What is machine learning ?

Tom Mitchell: "Machine Learning is concerned with computer programs that automatically improve their performance through experience. This course covers the theory and practice of machine learning from a variety of perspectives. We cover topics such as learning decision trees, neural network learning, statistical learning methods, genetic algorithms, Bayesian learning methods, explanation-based learning, and reinforcement learning. The course covers theoretical concepts such as inductive bias, the PAC and Mistake-bound learning frameworks, minimum description length principle, and Occam's Razor."

Background

The intended audience, etc.

Instructor

Uffe Kjśrulff, room no. E1-105.

Textbook

Tom Mitchell (1997), Machine Learning , McGraw Hill.

Available at Aalborg Centerboghandel, Fredrik Bajers Vej 7B, at a price of DKK 470 (10% discount for students).

Errata for printings one and two available in PostScript and PDF formats.

Review of the book available in PostScript and PDF formats.

Lecture plan (and slides)

Topic

Date & time

Room

Introduction to Machine Learning Thu 1 Feb 10:15 E3-209

Concept Learning, Version Spaces Fri 23 Feb 10:15 E3-209

Decision Trees Wed 28 Feb 14:30 E3-209

Singlelayer Neural Networks Wed 7 Mar 14:30 E3-209

Multilayer Neural Networks Wed 14 Mar 14:30 E3-209

Exercise: Neural networks and face images Wed 21 Mar 12:30 No lecture

Evaluating Hypotheses Wed 28 Mar 14:30 E3-209

Bayesian Learning: MAP & ML Wed 4 Apr 14:30 E3-209

Bayesian Networks, EM Algorithm Wed 11 Apr 14:30 E3-209

10 

Instance-Based Learning Wed 18 Apr 14:30 E3-209

11 

Genetic Algorithms Wed 2 May 14:30 E3-209

12 

Learning Rules Wed 9 May 14:30 E3-209

13 

Single-Agent Reinforcement Learning Wed 16 May 14:00 E3-209

14 

Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning Wed 16 May 15:00 E3-209

15 

Summary of selected topics Wed 23 May 14:30 E3-209

Examination (Files in Danish.)

List of potential examination requirements. (In Danish.)

List of actual examination requirements. (ps file)

List of actual examination requirements. (pdf file)


This page is maintained by Uffe Kjærulff.
Last updated 23 May 2001.